About the Hall of Fame

In recognition of the many individual contributions to athletics, the Tacoma Athletic Commission  established the State of Washington Sports Hall of Fame in the early 1960’s. Commissioned by then-governor Albert Rosellini, the shrine was originated by Clay Huntington, longtime Northwest sportscaster and radio station owner.

State HOF-Clay and Gov Rosellini
Clay Huntington and then Gov. Albert Rosellini

Sports Hall of Fame members are recognized for their outstanding sports accomplishments and contributions that have brought national acclaim to themselves and to the State of Washington. A distinguished panel nominates a number of candidates annually who in turn are voted to the shrine by top sportswriters and sportscasters from throughout the state. To qualify for membership, a nominee must be at least five years in retirement from the sport involved.

The State of Washington Sports Hall of Fame currently numbers 204. Membership plaques are displayed in the Tacoma Dome Shanaman Sports Museum.

Nominations for future considerations may be submitted in writing to:

State of Washington Sports Hall of Fame
9908 63rd Ave. Ct. E.
Puyallup, WA 98373-1170

or you can e-mail Marc Blau using our contact form.