1996 Inductees

1996 Inductees

During their acclaimed World Cup skiing careers, Phil and Steve traveled the world, earning recognition as two of the best skiers in the history of the sport.  Together winning 36 World Cup events, Three World Championship medals, three Olympic medals, three Overall World Cup titles, and numerous other honors and awards.  During that time they never lost sight of their roots.  They both continue to call the Yakima Valley home and spend time there with family and friends.

After retiring from International skiing competition in the spring of 1984, they have continued to work in the ski industry, forming the Mahre Training Center, a ski clinic held exclusively at Deer Valley Resort in Utah, where people of all skiing ability can learn from two of the best skiers in the world.  They continue to work in promotional and developmental positions with ski industry suppliers, while also pursuing other interests.  Although this kept them busy, their competitive desires were beckoning once again.  With renewed enthusiasm they joined the US Pro Skiing Tour during the winter months and pursued their new found passion of motorsports in the summer.

Although they no longer compete at the International level, winter months are spent in skiing circles, mentoring young ski racers, teaching their camps, or competing in made for TV events such as the Legends of Skiing at Vail, Colorado.  These events feature Olympic and World Cup skiing greats from the past and present.  Once a racer always a racer!!!

Their number one priority, spending time with their children and grand children keeps them busy as they pursue their dreams.

1996 Inductees

While Ahmad Rashad initially made his mark on the football field, the 1968 Mount Tahoma High School graduate has gone on to cover nearly every major sport in the broadcast booth.

Following the conclusion of his National Football League career, Rashad joined the NBC football broadcast team as a commentator in 1983. In the 30+ years since then, he has gone on to cover the NFL, National Basketball Association, Major League Baseball and Professional Golf Association. He has also served as studio host during three Olympic Games (1988 Seoul, 1992 Barcelona and 1996 Atlanta) and covered the Track & Field World Championships.

Rashad’s work has earned numerous Emmy nominations in various categories, including an Emmy win for his writing during the coverage of the Seoul Olympics. He has worked as a pregame host for the NFL, including Super Bowl coverage in the mid-1990s, and the NBA, including work in the All-Star Game, playoffs and NBA Finals. Beyond sports, he has hosted national television shows Real TV and Entertainment Tonight.

Born in Portland, Ore., Rashad attended Tacoma’s Mount Tahoma High School in the mid-1960s before moving on to the University of Oregon on a football scholarship. Rashad played both wide receiver and running back at UO, earning All-America honors in 1971 before graduating and being picked fourth overall by the St. Louis Cardinals in the 1972 NFL draft. He was a four-time Pro Bowl selection in the NFL, compiling 495 receptions, 6,831 yards and 44 touchdowns while playing for the Cardinals, Buffalo Bills and Minnesota Vikings.

In 1995, Rashad became the first former athlete to win the Pioneer Award, University of Oregon’s highest alumni honor, awarded to a person who has taken risks to claim a position of leadership through strong character. He has been heavily involved in community projects, working with Boys and Girls Clubs and creating an annual golf tournament to raise money for the White Plains Hospital Center, among numerous other charitable projects. He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2007.

Bob Schloredt — Football
1996 Inductees

Bob Schloredt is¬†one of the University of Washington’s all-time great quarterbacks. He led the Huskies to back-to-back Rose Bowl victories in 1960 and 1961. Twice he won All-America honors and he was two-time Rose Bowl MVP. In addition to numerous athletic honors, Schloredt¬†is a member of the National Football Hall of Fame, the UW Athletic Hall of Fame and the Rose Bowl Hall of Fame.